A&E Blind and Awning was founded in the summer of 1939 by Sid Agee and John T. Elam. The company started out making venetian blinds exclusively. Agee and Elam stressed the importance of product quality and excellent customer service, which enabled the company to achieve steady growth.
When the company became incorporated in 1948, they changed their name to A&E Venetian Blind Company. John's son, Ty Elam, joined the business in the 1960's. Over the years, the company grew and diversified into other areas such as: interior/exterior window treatments (including awnings and shutters), patio covers and carports, garden rooms, shower doors/tub enclosures, mirrors and replacement windows. Since the early 1940's, A&E has been a fabricator of some Hunter–Douglas window treatments and is currently a Showcase Dealer for Hunter–Douglas products. They also provide a more budget friendly option for some of the most desired styles of window coverings,
The ownership changed in 2016 to L. B. Rainbolt. L. B. is eager to bring a fresh energy while continuing the traditions that the Elam family began.
A&E has grown and changed over the years, but the commitment to superior product quality and excellent customer service has remained steadfast.